The Dutch Sure Know How to Care for Their Sick :)

The first time I entered the Medical City Hospital in Ortigas, I remember thinking, wow, Hotel-ish.
hehehe. So that’s where I gave birth to all 3 of my kids :) So, yes, the lobby was the deciding factor
for me! hahaha

Well, this afternoon I saw this article in FRAME magazine about some hospitals that are
changing their architecture to make it more patient friendly. The article posed the question

"Can Good Design Help with Healing?"

Well, the Dutch seem to think so :) The’yre making their hospitals look less like hospitals
and more like luxury hotels :) Somewhere that a sick person would actually like to be confined in.

Here are some of the hotels hospitals from the article:

Orbis Medical Park (Sittard, Netherlands)
Love the lamps

Actually, this one looks more like an airport terminal ;) 
But isn’t it less claustrophobic? So cool and airy.

I remember seeing a room like this on the show HOUSE. The large door openings make
more sense, especially when you have to wheel in those big hospital beds.

Emma Children’s Hospital (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
I just love the illustrations on the glass. Cute

Groot Klimmendaal Rehabilation Center (Arnhem, Netherlands)
If I were a patient, I would love to see those trees outside my room

Isn’t the view super relaxing?

The text underneath says that the interior is designed to radiate wellness :)

Aren’t these the coolest environmental graphic icons?


All I can say is buti pa sila. hahahah
a. I heard that St. Luke’s at the Global City looks hotel-ish too
but I have yet to visit it. Anyway, saka na when I’m sick again. But not anytime soon I hope :D

Leave a comment