Vector Challenges & Goals

I’ve always wanted to do a really nice vector illustration.
So I took on the challenge of illustrating this wooden vespa  :)

Here’s the final vector illustration:

Next, I saw this illustration and I thought I wanted to do something similar

I chose to do the logo of the Vespa Club of the Philippines made by their member, Abet Rana :)
I wanted the challenge of making this colorful logo into just one color.

Adding more shadows than the inspiration photo, here’s what I came up with:

Next, I want to be able to make different kinds of vector portraits :)

Here are some cool illustrations I found online (most of which are from this site: vector portraits)
Love the different styles of each. . .

Love her lips, the use of color and the highlights of this one:

Someone said that my self-portrait illustration looks almost like Emily Strange.
hehehe. She’s cuter of course, but I do like the simplicity of her illustration

Love the style of this illustration

I love how her hair and skin is in different colors, yet it still works aesthetically

Love the highlights of the hair detail of this one. Ang tiyaga

I don’t even know how to start doing something like this?!?!? And the hair? How?!?!?

It’s always the hair! And her freckles and blush are perfect. Hay, so nice

I have a hard time drawing teeth . . . light grey for outlines pala dapat. Hmmm.
Plus I love the shadows of the lip part

I love everything in this drawing

5 or 6 colors for the hair? Whatever. Really nice


This one has a photoshop
tutorial :) Cool!

Hehehe. So pop. I like


Now, which style will I try first . . . .

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. fishonmybed
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 16:42:24

    maybe you can change the color of the wasps on the golden logo of vespa to accent the riders.

    Reply

Leave a comment