Bad Things Happen

The start of this year hasn’t really been the best. First my grandmother dies. Then my parents factory burned down. And now, in this week alone, I’ve been to the emergency room twice for two of my kids.

One, Mati slid on a rug in the bathroom and got a fist sized bump at the side of her head. And second, when Noah’s right pinky finger got caught in our electric fan :(

(you don’t even want to see what’s under that bandage)
Noah's pinky finger

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This got me thinking about life.

Why do bad things happen? And why a lot in this year? Are we bad people? And why do I have a lung problem when I don’t even smoke? That and a bunch of other negative stuff . . .

Thankfully, this train of thought didn’t last long. (around 3 to 4 days. hehe) I then realized, why count my misfortunes when I have so many blessings.

So I counted. . .

1) I’ve been blessed with the best parents and a very supportive family. My parents were the ones who took Mati to the hospital after she got her bump, And the day Noah’s incident happened, I found this new blade-less fan in their playroom ;)

Thanks mom and dad :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2) My mom was diagnosed with stage 1 uterine cancer but has since undergone a successful hysterectomy and is recovering beautifully. Thank you Lord!!!

3) I’ve been blessed with the cutest, most lovable kids in the world :)

4) The economy may still be in a bad state, but my parents business is still thriving even after the fire. Plus my sister has opened a local Locsin furniture store at the LRI building in Makati. Yay Reg!

5) And this may seem corny, but I’m always thankful that we have a roof over our heads, clothes on our back, that we never lack in food and provisions and are living a comfortable life

And those are only 5 things. I could still go on and on.

So yes, bad things happen and will keep happening. And yes, sometimes it may seem totally unfair and just break our hearts. And it’s not cause the universe is picking on us or anything. That’s just how life is.

The thing is to not dwell on the bad and to never take for granted the good things that life hands us.

My little Noah may have hurt his pinky pretty bad, but you know what? I saw how tough he really is  :) And I’m super proud of him. Plus we now have the cutest X-ray of his hands:

And on a bad day, singing this always cheers me up:

Leave a comment